Skip to content

The Zero Harm Excellence Award

As SCHA’s Zero Harm program continues to expand and evolve, we strive to capture the high reliability efforts that South Carolina hospitals are making every day in order to eliminate harm from their facilities.

In previous years, only facilities demonstrating zero harm for the maximum time frame in each clinical category were eligible for a crystal award.  Beginning this year, SCHA will recognize health systems with this elite crystal award that adopt a systems level approach to excellence and zero harm based on a points system that awards your active efforts to advance high reliability.

Facilities must earn 65 or more points using the new point-based system below to qualify:

Category Point Value 
Zero Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infections*# 5
Zero Surgical Site Infections: Abdominal Hysterectomy* 5
Zero Surgical Site Infections: Colon* 5
Zero Surgical Site Infections: Hip Replacement* 5
Zero Surgical Site Infections: Knee Replacement* 5
Zero Hospital onset MRSA* 5
Zero Hospital onset C.diff* 5
Zero or 50% reduction from previous year Hospital Acquired Pressure Injury 5
Drive to Zero Suicide (must meet 3 of 5 categories) 20
Drive to Zero Harm Leadership Award 10 (Nomination)10 (Winner)
Bonus Points 5 (Member SC Surgical Quality Collaborative)5 (Member Hospital Quality Improvement Contract)
2020 crystal award winners qualify for The New Zero Harm Excellence Award if record continues by adding 12 additional, consecutive months(new procedure threshold criteria applies)  65

*No infections in calendar year 2020 (validated by DHEC)

#One or more units with zero central line-associated bloodstream infections